How to Mosaic a Garden Flower Pot – Part 1


For this project, I purchased a terracotta pot from a large chain DIY store in my area (yes, B & Q!). The first job is to seal it with diluted builder’s pva glue (mix half and half with water). Brush the pva sealant all over the surface, both inside and out.

Next, if you want to, paint the inside with acrylic paint. I used black for mine.

Use diluted pva to seal the pot and acrylic paint for the inside

Now you’re ready to start!

Decide on your design. Scratch your head a bit, have a look around for inspiration…..here’s some to help you. Simple patterns work well, either formal geometric patterns or more abstract, organic shapes. Keep it fairly simple.

If, like me, you want to create a design that requires pre-cut shapes, these have to be prepared next. Wearing safety specs, use tile nippers to shape round pieces and a tile cutter for any strips or straight lines. It is important to use frost resistant tiles or mosaic tesserae so that your pot will survive outdoors.

Pre-cut shapes for my daisy motif

Pieces of tile pre-cut to form the flower stem

You have to remember that the surface is curved. This means that any larger shapes have to be cut so that they can follow the curve. With my design, the petals were just about short enough to use whole. However I decide to divide my leaves into smaller pieces. This way, they fit around the pot following its contour and I’ve defined veins in the leaves at the same time.

Leaves

You can see from the photo that I mark the shape that I want to cut with red china marker onto the tile first. Then use the nippers to carefully cut it out.

Both flower stem and leaves follow the contour of the pot

Use a cementitious tile adhesive – I’ve used BAL Mosaic Fix for mine – to stick the pieces onto the pot. You can mix a small cupful for each small section that you work on.

Once you’ve glued down your first motif or section of pattern, clean off any excess adhesive from the surface of the mosaic pieces. If it gets left until tomorrow, it will be rock hard!

The first flower complete!

In part 2, I’ll show you how I completed and grouted my mosaic flower pot…………………..update: go to https://traceycartledge.wordpress.com/2011/07/14/daisy-daisy-make-me-a-flower-pot-do/

 

If you need supplies, you can find tile nippers, safety specs and china markers in the ‘accessories’ section of my main website: http://www.traceycartledge.co.uk/products?tags=accessories

2 thoughts on “How to Mosaic a Garden Flower Pot – Part 1

  1. Pingback: How to Mosaic a Daisy Flower Pot « MakeMosaicTrace’s Blog

  2. makemosaictrace Post author

    SORRY –
    I planned to have given you Part 2 sooner but we have been madly busy at the studio and elsewhere.
    Is anybody out there waiting for PART 2 to complete your project?
    I’m aiming to get it published here next week!
    Tracey
    x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

